Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Decided to explore somewhere new to me today.  So went to Orton not far from Shap and the M6.  The plan was to visit the limestone pavement that Hazelina blipped recently. Didn't quite make it, so will have to wait until next time.  Oh what a lovely area it is and so very quiet.  Just saw a handful of people walking the coast to coast trail.  

We weren't too far from the limestone pavement at Sunbiggin walking past a farm when a collie decided to join us and then a hound with her puppy came along too!  The hound and puppy eventually went home but the collie refused to.  I wasn't too worried as we've been joined by farm dogs before and after so far they go home.  Not this one.  I managed to keep him behind two gates but he merely jumped on to the wall and over the barbed wire on the top to join us.  He then started limping.  I thought he might have hurt his paw on the barbed wire, so turned back to be met by a girl who was looking for him.  Turns out he is virtually blind!  I felt so guilty for carrying on walking with him and then hurting a paw.  Hope he's ok.  Its an area I will revisit and enjoy exploring but its a bit of a trek.  Two more in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.