Limestone link (inadvertently)

As the Minx was returning home to Chorley, this afternoon, I asked her to drop me off in Beetham on her way back so that I could run home. The direct route was a little shorter than I wanted so I decided to run up Leighton Beck Road, past the house I lived in for just over a year around the turn of the century, and then take the road out to Hale. From here I could run down and cross the A6 and head back to Kirkby Lonsdale. 

It was just after I turned off Leighton Beck Road that I saw a sign post for a footpath to Hale. Since the rest of the run would be on tarmac, I thought a little variety would be nice, so I took that turning and ran down into the woods. 

It quickly became apparent that I'd stumbled on a section of the Limestone Link that runs from Arnside to Kirkby Lonsdale. In all the time I've lived here, I've never done the whole stretch, just a section near the eastern end.

To be honest, it wasn't that great a surface to run on as you'd only have to put a foot slightly wrong to twist an ankle or worse. I took this shot looking back the way I'd come after one of the more open sections. What you can also see in the picture is one of the signposts; it is very well marked out.

****
-10.7 kgs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.