My Dad’s Pencil(s)…

Hello Everyone,

Bit of a wash out today… My daughter first of all changed her mind about when I should pick her up and then near to the new time cancelled… In reality she was just doing what she normally does, and I was half expecting it. I am by no means a helicopter parent… I leave her to get on with her life and if she needs me, I will help.

Well I have had my hair cut today and lost the father Christmas beard and when I look in the mirror, I see that devilishly good-looking chap I’ve known for 61 years!

The photo is of a pencil that was my dad’s… I watched the repair shop tonight on the TV and they restored a clocking in machine. When I was an apprentice in Pompey dockyard, I used a similar one… My Dad worked in the Dockyard all his life, first as a shipwright and then a recorder of time. He died when I was 19 in 1978 and this was his pencil (well a tube with a pencil stuck in both end) he used. My oldest sister had if for years and gave it to me a couple of years ago…

Not sure why I’m telling you all this…

Stay happy, strong, and healthy… more tomorrow.

POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.