Over the bridge

Bassoon lesson this morning. She had a wobble, running out of her lesson when she realised she'd not done the right study this week. But then, when she went back, she was amazing! There are times I listen (from the gorgoeus garden this morning) and I struggle to equate the music with the fact she's my 10 year old who's been playing for 18months. Today B gave her a very tricky, technically complex Grade 8 piece. Katie sight read it like it was nothing at all. We had considered taking on this particular challenge. We certainly are now.

After her lesson, we spent a couple of hours at home working on some orders solidly and then declared the work done! We headed off and took ourselves for a walk over the humber bridge, an explore and a walk back. It didn't quite go to plan. Katie has previously loved doing this but now hates bridges over water. The explore was great, harvesting beautiful fresh wild plums. Well it was great until I fell out of a tree. I did my best "oh mama is fine" as blood ran down my sliced legs! We finished the pottering and walked back over the bridge, thankfully hearing from B that we could go round and she'd help me sort it out! Oh well, we are going to have a lovely crumble! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.