Late Afternoon

Does this look hot enough? 105 degrees at the high point this afternoon. And there are fires up the coast, so it smells a little smoky and the sky’s a little thick. At least it’s cooling down some, so we can get air moving through the house. I’ve never reacted to heat like this before, and I’m not sure I’ve ever even been in heat like this before. We’re about to go out to pick up some take-out for dinner. I don’t really care about the food—riding around with the air conditioner on is what sounds pretty enticing.

We had a very dramatic thunder and lightning storm in the wee small hours this morning. And a smattering of rain! Definitely not a coastal California thing. 

I did round up all the mushy tomatoes this morning and we made a big batch of gazpacho. It was the perfect thing to do with them. 


It’s almost 8 pm and temperature is down to 70 degrees, downright chilly! I took a little turn around the block and it was nice to move, even for just a few minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.