Overcoming a Phobia

We went for a walk today around the local regional park. A lovely family walk through the bush and then around looking over the sea. We stopped off at the playground there which has been gradually redeveloped into a Maori themed playground. There is a whare with the slides coming out of it, and multiple carvings around the area, plus these pou, which represent 4 of the native birds local to the area. One of them is a Kereru (wood pigeon), one is a fantail, one is a crane, and one is night bird (possibly a morepork).

After we came home, I decided that today was the day I was actively going to try and get over a stupid food phobia that I've had for many years. In my childhood, I had a mild egg allergy, which I gradually grew out of. Eating things with concealed egg in it has been fine, but having pure egg in the open, just wasn't going to happen. Now I'm quite a pragmatic soul, and fairly able to put on a reasoned front, but start telling me I will eat egg, solid egg, and I turn into a gibbering wreck. But positive action is going to be taken. It's stupid!

The Husband made this frittata for our lunch today. I ate an eighth of it. And it was DELICIOUS! I'm even taking a serving of it to work with me tomorrow for my lunch.

Yes, I am pathetic, but today I made a huge gain by eating this. I'm very proud of myself.

We went to the beach later in the afternoon for a swim, which was blissful. Then home for a BBQ tea. Kids have been read to and put to bed, so now time to get things ready for the week ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.