New Mexico textures

Out to the Ojito again today with my son. Lots of okay shots, but it was kind of a hazy day. This was taken on the way out. The peak is Cabezon and it is a volcanic neck (tertiary ~2my). It figures prominently in Navajo mythology. It also figured prominently in my youth when I was a young archaeologist working in the Rio Puerco valley.

Since there was a cold wind and we forgot jackets, it was a mostly driving day and so we made the complete circuit going in south of San Ysidro and coming out way north. We even got to go over the knife edge road (at the time we thought we would be coming back the same way and neglected to photograph it). It is quite spectacular with a big drop off on both sides of the road.

Today, I am grateful for the day I was given, the sun, the sky, Cabezon and my son.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.