Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Backyard Beauties

These two calla lilies (Zantedeschia) are our first for this season. I like all flowers, but for some strange reason, these always cause me to put on the brakes, pause, and ponder.

As Mr. Fun was grilling our evening meal, I was surprised and thrilled to find these two. Calla lilies don't hold any special memory for me, so I don't really know when this fondness began. I do know that I love seeing them in a bridal bouquet. The truth is that I like all bridal bouquets. (The complete truth is that I like anything bridal. That's another story that has to do with getting married to Mr. Fun with I was 15 and I'll save that for a future blip.)

Today has been a slow-motion Saturday, so every minute has been enjoyable. Other than listen to the trains whistle their way through our community, I haven't even thought about the time. The sun rose into a clear sky, then warmed the air as if this were summer.

Mr. Fun was gone early this morn, before I woke. He was getting an errand done. He brought home breakfast burritos, made a press-pot of chocolate coffee, and our leisurely morning was launched. In the afternoon I cleared some more clutter (love the sound of that shredder). Then after we barbequed dinner we took Bob dog for a walk through the neighborhood. I clicked some terrific photos of everyone else's flowers. The blooms of the bird of paradise around the corner and down the street are still beautiful, even though they're dying. When I unloaded the camera, I knew immediately that our calla lilies were today's treasure.

Actually the entire day has been a treasure. No seatbelts, helmets, or red-lights when I needed green. This day oozed with contentment and lack of hurry. Sigh!

I'm thankful to be part of this wonderful blip community. Good night from Southern California where a beautiful fingernail moon is overhead.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.