The day to start is today

By Traci

When thank you becomes a dying art

The whole process of a thank you seems to be a dying art these days. Whether it be as you let someone through a door, and you say "thank you" as they pass through obliviously. Letting someone into a queue of traffic and there is no acknowledgement rather just a fixed forward gaze towards the next traffic dilema. Or my pet hate a text thank you. I am not saying that every good deed deserves a handwritten thank you note sent in the post, but there is a level of thanks that people do deserve dependent on the deed as long as it is not an assumed level of demand or expectation.

Thank you cards are a way of expressing gratitude normally after a gift or extra special event planned and prepared for some lucky person. People who receive one feel appreciated. Thank you cards are so much more personal than some of the other forms of thank you such as emails, tweets, texts, or even a verbal thank
you. A written thank you note says someone took the time to sit down and write a letter. It means that someone really cares.

In the technological age I am not saying other means should not be ignored, but instant messaging, flippant speedily written e mails can all become a little too easy and less meaningful.

Letters and cards can take days and sometimes a week to get to the recipient but they remain more sincere, they show effort, they can be re read and of course, kept.

My blip today is a photo to remind me of a very special bunch of flowers - and note I received to say thank you. For nothing more than doing my job, but it reminded me there a few overdue 'written' letters for me to write to say thank you to some very special people who give their time so generously to help me do what I love to do in Guiding, without them I would be totally lost and although I do tell them on a regular basis, they just deserve a little bit more of an effort and a very sincere Thank You :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.