Little and large

Produce from the garden. I’m not keen on the ribbed green courgette which was hiding so became a marrow. The tiny tomatoes are really tasty and the ball courgette is a real find. It stays firm and doesn’t go mushy. I sliced and cooked it on the groved griddle and we ate it with feta cheese, pine nuts and a mint infused olive oil.

I got my Covid test today. I gagged. If it is clear I go for my op on Tuesday. From now I have to isolate. I imagine it is ok to go in the woods behind the house for a walk as I won’t meet anyone.


We got back to see a couple gathering the damsons from the hedge opposite our house. They had almost stripped the bushes. I said they must be making a lot of gin. They said they were having a family party at Christmas. I asked them to please leave some for us and our neighbours as we all like damson gin. They stopped picking and drove off in their large Merc. Mr C thinks they must be Johnsonites or Cummings relatives with a sense of entitlement. Our neighbour said they had been there an hour and had bags full. You only need 500gm for a litre of gin so I think they must be in commercial production! Normally people aren’t so greedy.

If the weather is as bad as it forecast over the weekend I might just get on with my knitting or even do the jigsaw Dennis had made for us from a picture of our family. Dennis has his second bladder cancer op today. I do hope they got it all this time and nothing more had to be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.