Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pretzel visits

JR went round to collect Pretzel this morning. What excitement when she came in! Archie barked like mad and tried to ruin her entrance, but she galloped in, tail wagging like mad, ignoring him.

So Robert got a surprise when he arrived to take Archie out, and two excited barking dogs charged out to meet him. While Archie was out, Pretzel relaxed on the sofa, JR went out for a run, and I cut the grass. I then took a notion to attend to the edges. I last did them a few years ago, with scissors, so they have gradually been expanding over the pavers - several centimetres in parts.

I happened to see on YouTube, how to use a garden edge strimmer to cut the edges (and there is one in the shed) - just hold it differently. I had done about half when I realised I’d strimmed off the two wee wires by hitting the pavers too often. I thought I’d broken it, but thought there must be more wire in the central part, and when Robert came back we had a look. Yes! Plenty more. All fixed.

But I had already finished the rest off with the scissors. And they do look smart. Very smart. I shall keep them like that from now on.

I think it’s going to be wet tomorrow, so we won’t put Archie into daycare, we’ll do it on Thursday. Working up to going an extended (ie more than 10 minutes) bike ride...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.