Charlie in the mist

A beautiful misty morning. I was behind another guy I sometimes see when I'm out walking. I caught up to him, had a brief conversation, then passed him. When I stopped to take a photo of this boat, he caught up to me and told me that this was Charlie, getting ready to head out. I told him about the specs and the cutlery and can that someone had left on the chair down at the beach, and he agreed that people often leave (or forget) odd things on the beach or the side of the road. (2nd and 3rd extra). He continued walking while I took a couple of other photos.
He turned back at the top of a hill and asked me which direction I was going and if I'd seen a dead deer. He then told me that Charlie had called him about a deer being hit by a vehicle. Neither of us had seen any sign of it. 
I continued my walk, thinking about how peaceful and quiet the morning was. About 15 minutes later, I heard two gunshots very close by! Startled me, and I wondered if hunting season had started because there are often deer on the hill near the quonset hut. I hesitated about continuing, but then Nosey Nanzy kicked in and I went around the bend to see what I could see. First a white van with its flashers on, pulled over on the shoulder. Then as I went a bit further, an RCMP vehicle also pulled over with flashers on, and an officer leaning into the driver's side. I kept going and he saw me and said hello. I told him that the shots had startled me. He said that there was an injured deer and he'd had to kill it. I figured that's what happened and told him about the guy who'd mentioned the deer being hit. He said that some people on the island stab - STAB! - injured deer if they come across them on the side of the road. I assumed he meant that they slit the deer's throat as a quick way to put them out of their misery. He said that people should call the RCMP if they see an injured animal, not kill it themselves. I wondered if the deer had been injured and made its way this far, but he said it had been hit here. I didn't see it and didn't look for it, although on the way back I did look for signs of blood. None. 
Another zucchini bread baked with grated zucchini I'd frozen and applesauce made with apples the neighbour gave us. The zucchini was quite watery when thawed, so I drained it. The bread looks really good, and if it tastes as good as it does when made with fresh zucchini, I'll freeze more grated. I'm making roasted zucchini with a Panko/parmesan/garlic/parsley/butter topping as a side with supper tonight. Always delish! Eating as much of our zucchini in as many different ways as I can think of!   :-))
The first extra is another boat in the mist. Another boat in my 2nd journal. I couldn't figure out what caused those diagonal rays of light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.