Hoop dreams

MonoMonday theme: Over and Under. Thanks to BlackTulip for hosting.
My former colleagues in schools and at universities are on my mind today, as are all the students who return to school here this week. I hope they all stay safe. As a retired teacher and coach (mostly basketball), I'm so sad at the circumstances they'll be dealing with. I know I'd be looking forward to a new academic year and coaching. Students who love athletics and playing on school and uni teams will be so disappointed that competitions won't be happening, not before Christmas anyway. We're disappointed that we won't be travelling over to watch Kalyn and her SFU volleyball team play. Lots to look forward to for all of us though, when things get back to normal. Have to stay hopeful and positive!
Standing under the hoop that was over my head brought back lots of memories of great times coaching great kids.
Labour Day here. A shout out to all the workers who keep the system going and to the unions who protect the rights of workers. 
Extra: student art work on a wall of a local elementary school. I just felt like being on school grounds today. I still get the back-to-school butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.