Life In Wales

By KarenC

Room for a Little One?

I didn’t sleep well last night as I knew we had to be up early as the online check in for our flight opened at 6am.

Anyway, check in done, we used the time to finish the packing. We weighed the cases and they’re both within the weight limit, which is a miracle, although we did pay extra to have 25kgs each lol! We carried the cases downstairs and left them open so as not to crease everything, and when we came down with case number 2, we found Bobbie sat on top of this one! Do you think there’s room for a little one?

We were both working this morning, and when I finished at 1pm, Nik wished me a happy holiday and told me that they’re planning on me having to quarantine on my return. It’s nice to have a supportive boss and to know that it’s not going to cause any problem if we have to.

Tonight we’re booked into the Premier Inn at Gatwick Airport, so we said we’d have a fish & chip takeout before we left, but on my way home from work I suggested to Alan that we had a chippy lunch instead. It was 2pm by the time I got there and the chippy was just closing, so there wasn’t much choice - they had one portion of chips, a sausage, a savaloy (battered sausage) a ‘fishy’ cake and two pies. The chippy is owned by a Chinese couple and it made me laugh that she kept offering me the ‘fishy cake’. I said I’d take the two pies and the chips - her husband ended up cooking a second portion, and when it was ready she offered me the ‘fishy cake’ on the house . I thanked her but said we couldn’t eat it, she said it’s for free - I really think she wanted to give me the fishy cake, but I’d have just thrown it away so didn’t take it. It made me chuckle though, and fish cakes will now always be known as fishy cakes.

We sat and had our pie and chips in the garden and then loaded up the car and set off for the airport at 5pm. Charlotte is looking after the boys and Sherbie, and the boys were as excited as ever to see her, it’s so nice knowing they’re in good hands.

We’re now checked into the hotel, we’ve brought wine with us so we’re just chilling in the room. I’m going to have a soak in the bath and have an early night as we have to be up at 3am!

Hopefully my next Blip will be from Portugal, but I’ll only believe it when we’re on the plane!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.