Scumble

Scumble is made from apples. 

Well, mainly apples, which in no way guarantees a low alcohol content. Scumble is drunk in thimblefuls, is strong enough to be used for cleaning spoons, and should not be put in a metal container or allowed to come into contact with water. Someone who can drink a lot of scumble all at once without ill effects is probably not really human.

That comes of course from the Terry Pratchett Wiki. I may have drank some pints of this today at my favourite place, the Grampus at Lee. Subsequently, the determination of Happy_Janwen to persuade me up narrow cliff top paths with immense drops down to the sea... well, you have to wonder don’t you.

At one point I may have arisen from a bench where I was catching my breath, only to have overbalanced face first into a soft pillow made mostly from gorse and bramble. Ouch. The only sympathy I received from madam was tinged with the annoyance that she couldn’t get her phone camera working in time to capture the event. 

I am, after all, only human

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.