Ineffable

By ineffable

I had to do it.

So this morning I made my little latte. I sat down at the table, I was listening to Miley Cirus' new song "The Climb" (another embarrassing pop music confession) and I looked up and saw these guys. I know, I know, I've been in this apartment almost a week now - but I looked up this morning and just laughed.

Partially because I am in the home of a 31 year old bachelor who dressed his African figure in African beads and left the drum playing woman bare... and two because they are just a funny little pair. Why does he get that big stick and all the distinguished looking attributes and she's just banging away on that drum. I am so sure.

As for me. Work is dicey guys. Really dicey. I spent Wednesday through Friday of last week in a black hole. I had a four hour meeting today and am waiting to hear about a meeting tomorrow. Have dinner with Sarah tonight, in which I know work will come up. They've just returned from Uganda and I am dying to know about the progress since we were there in August, but I am afraid we're going to spend the entire time talking about the internal chaos. Oh well. That's life. But Miley is reminding me that this is life, and I just have to enjoy the climb.

I hope you guys had a delightful Monday. I also just want to say that as a humanitarian aid worker. EVERY LITTLE ACT OF KINDNESS YOU DO MATTERS. I stopped and talked to two men today and we went and got two cups of coffee and two rolls. I spoke terrible German, they were so patient with me, it took about 8 minutes of my day and at the end of my time with them, I told them that I enjoyed meeting them and hoped I would see them again. One of them looked at me with tears in his eyes and said he wasn't sure the last time someone had said that to him... It is so easy to make someone's day. Do what you can, where you can and remember, everyone you meet is fighting a battle. Like Catherine of Sienna said, we should enter every man's situation. It makes it much easier to value and love them.

OK, done with my soap box. Love to you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.