Ineffable

By ineffable

Uganda love it

So for those of you who don't know. I am a humanitarian aid worker. I work with a small church here in Berlin, that is a part of 42 churches internationally, and my role is our European humanitarian aid arm, and mobilizing Europeans to the third world, and their neighbors. I love my job. Often I wish I lived in the third world and not in the first world trying to convince people to give their time and energy to the third world.

Often I leave a country I have done work in and I wonder... will they ever remember me. Am I really making a difference, or do I just feel better? Do they even remember me? Is this worth is.

Today, after a team returned from Uganda, they brought with them a hand written letter from my favorite man, Robert. he is the foreman of the orphan project that we are doing in Uganda. I adore him and pray for him every night, sometimes feeling childish for doing so.

I wept when I got his letter. I realized they do remember us, it does matter, and he carries me in his heart too.

What i wrote yesterday works. Loving the person in front of you can change the world and should. and if you have the chance to go to the ends of the earth to love people then you should... because it matters.

This is a photo of the letter from Robert. I am wearing a beautiful diamond ring on my hand that my aunt designed in Europe years ago on her travels that she gave to me o the occasion that I decided to move here. I can say honestly that this letter from Robert means far more to me than this beautiful diamond ring, or for that matter, almost anything else in my life.

Happy Tuesday. May you feel love and pleasure like I did upon reading this letter last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.