FlappitWitch

By ThistlesWitch

Commando Memorial, at Spean Bridge

We were travelling south today from our first Highland accommodation to Dalavich in Argyle & Bute for our second week.
We passed a sign that said 'Commando Memorial'. We had loads of time on our hands so decided to stop and take a look. The info said that Winston Churchill had called for volunteers to set up a commando force in 1940 when it looked like Germany was going to over run Britain. These servicemen trained at Achnacarry Castle .
It wasn't until I started to read on that the penny dropped. My dad was a Marine Commando. And I remembered how he had told us about his training in Scotland. Yes! This was the place!!

Nearby was a garden of remembrance with tributes to many fallen servicemen, and veterans who have passed on now. Some people had placed photos of their loved ones, and some were marine commandos who had served in Burma, just like my dad, and in the same uniforms.
Also there were memorials and tributes to more recent losses, Afghanistan, Iraq, and many many more. There was a very moving to tribute to Captain David Seath, who collapsed and died whilst running the London Marathon in 2016 to raise funds for the veterans

I left the memorial feeling very emotional, but what a fitting place for it to be erected. When I return to the Highlands, which I know I will, I will bring the photo of my dad, taken in Burma, seen here in extras, and add it to the tributes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.