LA9 to CA95010 and back..

By LA9toCA95010

yes......that's really snow

Not content with moving continents and moving home (again) last week, J decided we would take advantage of the long weekend holiday from school, and head up to Lake Tahoe to ski.

It was his birthday weekend so we indulged him.

Great. Now I have to search through the shipping boxes, which have been stored in my lovely friend's garage nearby, for ski goggles, salopettes, gloves and all manner of essential outdoor kit. I probably would have left the boxes there till we move again at the end of April, but opening up a couple of them meant I found my own stash of Clipper teabags, plus a sealed Union Jack tin which contained Marmite, fudge, jam and marmalade - a gift from friends before we left. My first pang of homesickness. About friends I think. I don't even like fudge and marmalade.

Anyway, it was worth the scrabbling through boxes and the four and a half hour drive, to be able to get from the ocean to the snow. And to be able to ski somewhere you get coffee served by friendly people. I am never skiing in France again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.