JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Tie rack

To wear a tie or not wear a tie. It's not something I tie myself in knots over. As a general rule, on a day-to-day basis, I go for the open-necked shirt thing, but a tie is occasionally slung around my neck, dipped under the collar and tied appropriately. Randomly sometimes - the element of surprise - or for certain occasions. Only once or twice have I gone for jeans or even trainers - probable no-nos.

The idea of choosing a tie to wear is more appealing than the actual wearing of it, likewise the shopping for selection. I don't wear a tie of a weekend either. The thought of tux or kilt and going all über-formal I like. I think part of me wants to be Mad Men or Sinatra, joining in when all others are hats and suits, ties and pocket-squares. That sounds more like it. For now though it's a range of ties hanging up and the top collar unbuttoned. My return of Mad Men era men's fashion campaign starts now though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.