Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The circuit

We hung the two paintings with surprising ease this morning, the third one is being re-framed, and they fit nicely just along the wall from our new large painting television. The picture on the ‘off’ television looks like a framed painting, because it’s not backlit and unnaturally bright. And MUCH better than a big black space.

JR went off to the gym and pilates class with Christine, and I spent a pleasant morning fiddling with the new TV. I subscribed to the art collection, which is free for a month, and apparently has thousands of art works to display. 

Archie and I went for a walk (6,282 steps). Our normal circuit with a slight variation on the way home. Straight through the Meadows to my favourite cafe for a coffee. And Master Archie - the little brat - realised where we were heading, and refused to budge - several times. He always tries this on, but this time he did a definite no-budge. Dragging a dog along by the collar is not a good look, so I had to carry him the last few yards, and he’s quite heavy. Anyway, we didn’t go inside - we sat in the outdoor area -  he doesn’t like the buzzes and pings and general noises in there - so he was happy. Fortunately, I can order my coffee on my phone, which is fun.

We then walked past Greyfriar’s Bobby, down to the Grassmarket. I love this view as you come round the corner and see the castle. 

Oh look! There’s Mary’s Milk Bar, and my feet took me in. I apologised for not trying any of their exotic flavours - I’m a staunch ‘vanilla’ person. They do a ‘milk’ cone. Archie helped (Extra).

He scampered up the Vennel Steps. I didn’t. I had to stop to ‘look at the view’ several times.

We came home through Quartermile, a huge development of what was the old hospital. The old buildings are fantastic, and they’ve added new ones in to make a wonderful area. Still a huge amount of development to be done.

When we were both home again, we spent a while adding some ‘favourites’ to our painting collection on the television. JR had a bit of a tour of the new ‘smart’ remote, and then I watched the tennis and then the wonderful  ‘Repair Shop’.

This is getting ridiculous, but there’s another delivery tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.