Whirrled Peas

By JeremyEubanks

Dr. James Brown

This is a variation of an organic gardening textbook that I had in college. Somewhere along the way, I lent out my copy, and have been searching for it ever since. A little background here. Organic Gardening was one of those courses that everyone took. Something like 85% of the Auburn University students took it. Sure, it was an easy A, but there was more to it than that. The instructor, Dr. James Brown was every bit as upbeat and eccentric as the other man that comes to mind when you hear that name. A southern minister by trade, this guy also knew gardening like, well like a southern minister from another era might. He taught possibly the most interesting course anyone who actually went to his class would ever take. In it, I learned a ton about vegetable production. I had no idea how to grow anything. Now, some years later, I'm moving,and my new home already has a dedicated garden site. I want to grow vegetables and such, and I started searching furiously for the best resource I know of outside of my dad and grandfather, farmers. I finally found this on Amazon, listed as fair condition, for a really cheap price. Turns out, it was brand new, and I'm all about it. Halfway through, I'm ready to get my hands dirty and reap the rewards. Dr.Brown has been retired for some time now, but I look forward to the day I can run into him, shake his had, and say thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.