DDon

By DDon

Shakespeare in the Park

We hoofed it on down to Wortman Park today, to act out the third act of Hamlet. Here, Dani acts it out on the play structure, er, Elsinore. Dani is not playing Ophelia, or even Gertrude the Queen. No, she's playing, wonderfully, the ghost of Hamlet's father. I am an equal opportunity teacher. This was a kind of last minute planning item, but the weather was so good it was acceptable. I'm finding out that Dani is one of the funniest young ladies I've ever had in class. Not long ago she recited from memory the Napoleon Dynamite "Nessie" soliloquy, and then yesterday she told me how she waited on a tall, skinny middle school kid at her restaurant. When she asked him his name so she could bring his order to him, he told her his name was Blade. She had to tell me because I had told them that was my nickname way back in the day. She may not remember a metaphor buried within a line of Shakespearean iambic pentameter, but she'll remember that my nickname was The Blade. Now that's good teaching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.