Ineffable

By ineffable

Human face

I am not sure why I am on such a kick lately. So please bear with all these incredibly serious Blips.

It was a lovely day in Berlin today. 14 degrees. I wore my light trench coat, and NO TIGHTS (AJ!!!!) and I was still really warm at one point.

I had a meeting at lunch. Stopped by the flat that I am supposed to be living in. Bought Espresso so we would have enough for the weekend. Went to the grocery because Markus is sick and when he calls on his way home I am sure he's going to suggest take-out because we haven't been to the grocery... One point for efficiency. I bought chicken today because I felt like he probably needed protein to help fight the cold, as you guys know, I don't really believe in meat and dairy on a regular basis. I can't remember the last tim eI bought chicken. It's been easily over a year.

Anyway, I went outside and the tram that goes ALL THE WAY back to Markus' flat was 13 minutes from coming. So I walked around wondering what photo I could find. I shot a bunch of this field at the Fernsehturm. And then I uploaded them and found this one. These are the gypsies that ask em daily if I speak English and who I normally tell, I do, but I am afraid I am not going to give you any money. I used to offer to buy food, but they really don't want it. Just money. I get very annoyed with the ones that don't realize that they have asked me for money 5 times in 20 minutes, because they hang out in tourist district they kind of assume every face is new. And since I live in a tourist district, mine is not.

So I uploaded the picture, and I just lost my breath. What a human moment. Every one you meet is fighting a battle. Even the begging gypsies who I suspect make more in a year than me. They are mothers, with children, and husbands and difficulties and simply because I don't want to give them my money doesn't mean they aren't real, and don't deserve to be treated with dignity and respect.

We should enter into everyone's situation... I wish her and pray for her, joy and strength to get through this day and start again tomorrow. The same joy and strength I need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.