Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2020 Monday — Ordinary Life

When laid out with the 364 other days of this year, oh yeah and one more counting the extra day in February, this has been a fairly ordinary Monday.

Possibly the hardest decision today was what to have for dinner.

To explain dinner, I need to begin with earlier in the day.

I was awake this morning and sitting in the front room before Mr.Fun, which is not at all normal. The wind was coming out of the east and definitely stronger and warmer than usual, so I closed all the windows and closed the shades on the south window to block the direct sun. Then I began wishing my barista would come to my rescue.

And he did, but he was quite surprised I was awake before him. He loves mornings. I love the night.

Then I received notice in social media from “Fred & Betty’s Thrift Store” in San Luis Obispo that I had won a contest and was being rewarded with a $10 gift certificate. Hooray! Hooray!!

Mr. Fun headed out for his morning walk on the shore. I didn’t go because the sand is not a good place for the pups when it is windy. They are too low to the ground and sand blows in their faces and eyes.

Mr. Fun arrived home with the story of meeting new people (surprise, surprise); he is 100% a “people person.” While we ate lunch he told me some of their story.

As the day grew into afternoon, we headed into San Luis Obispo so I could use my $10 prize money at “Fred & Betty’s.”. It was the first day the store was open in over a month.

I love thrifting so it was easy to spend $10 and then some. We were also given 15% off our entire purchase because we’re senior citizens. I found all kinds of goodies and maybe in the next few days I’ll explain them. I will mention that I found and purchased an apron. “Susie Homemaker” I am not, but once in a while when I’m cooking I need protection from the popping grease of something I am sautéing on the stove.

This evening as we were enjoying dinner, the little sign across the room caught my attention. The past few days have felt like a fairytale; I don’t know why, they just have. I love living on California’s Central Coast, especially Cayucos. A couple of times lately I wanted to say “It just feels magical.” But I don’t really believe in magic. So I’m at a loss for describing this wonderful feeling. Then I noticed the little sign. A “fairy tale” is what this feels like. I love being here.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.