The day to start is today

By Traci

Simplicity

Total day of indecision today, all started when we looked outside and saw the weather, well couldn't see the weather, or anything. A grey blanket was huddling the whole area and our plans for a walk along the beach with pups seemed to be a bad idea.

But we got ourselves sorted, youngest got herself sorted, left the rest in bed and off we went half expecting the mist. fog. cloud whatever it was to lift or burn off or just disappear. Nope stayed with us the whole trip and even when we got down to Uphill it was still there. But out for a walk we were going, as long as it wasn't going to rain or feel too windy (I don't do damp or wind .. and I am sure most people will agree its just too uncomfortable to be worth the effort in such circumstances) It was eeriely still, quiet and felt so calm in all this greyness as we headed off up to the Grand Pier. A walk of 2 miles we discovered yesterday on the Pier, from Uphill to Knightstone Island, so 2 miles for a coffee (I have to have incentives as I go, probably worse than the children if I am perfectly honest) The cafe just past the pier is worth the walk and they let dogs in too which is an added bonus for pups. who we knew would be ready for a half time power nap, as he does work at a fairly sedate speed these days. Mind you saying that he was heading off into the surf minor waves with great vigor, taking great delight in shaking himself EVERY time he came out. Loved all the super cute puppies along the way, especially the chocolate brown lab, Bailey who I was convinced the owners wouldn't mind us adopting.

We were in time for high tide today but the Blip I was going for was the pier at high tide .... really weren't seeing it too well at this point. Although after the said Latte (even that was a tough choice today and when he and me got the order he decided he would have rather had my choice - nope Valentines was Friday love no more luvy duvy yes sweetie it's ok to swop stuff for awhile ... This Latte is Mine !!)

Now to get me back along the beach (we had to pick child up before too long) Contradictions Catering !!! an offer of a veggie burger, as it was getting on for 12 by now, did the trick. I could of course make myself sound quite cheap at this point but the Uphill beach catering establishment has a brilliant high quality reputation and salad !!!!

So having had a bit of a sun break we headed off into the greyness again but it was warm and dry, with the tide far enough in that Pups could still head in and out of the water with a various alsortment of other dogs along the way (once the tide goes out past a certain point the mud factor has to be taken into consideration, how heavy your dog is and whether he is stupid enough to stop running at a point where he may sink and get stuck? If the answer is yes! Keep them out of the water.)

Veggie burger and Big breakfast burger demolished, child collected, back home, cup of tea, change footwear to wellies, then off to our local Guide camp site to meet up with a group on a residential to take a group shot. Now I know it is normally muddy up there but today was on a different level and I took the right decision to reverse back down the rather long driveway, park out on the country road (a bit precariously I admit) and then walk down to meet them all.

Great fun trying to assist/encourage the pioneering challenge of a catapult building session while trying not to end up in an undignified heap on the muddy field. Luckily no one really took much advise from me and the contraptions seemed to work quite well. One team did get disqualified but that was absolutely not my fault ... at all.

Now I am home I have my feet wrapped up in my snuggly slippers, resting them on the radiator to gently but firmly thaw my toes through. Campsites in February .... erm nope not for me. Although the boil in the bag chocolate cake was scrummy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.