SEM / Anniversary

Today is the eighth anniversary of the first time I met the Minx in person!

Admittedly, this photo from the School Electronic Music isn't very romantic but it's where I spent most of my day. My initial reservations about whether I should sign up for the course - it's quite expensive and time-consuming - dissipated after a couple of weeks and I'm really enjoying it. 

And the Minx picked me up from SEM early evening and we drove down to Laxton to stay in the pub we first visited a couple of weeks ago. Even though it was dark, we still had an enjoyable drive down and then had a couple of drinks in the pub before retiring to our room for presents and celebratory fizz.

As is so often the case when thinking about a period of time, at first you think "Blimey, that's flown by!" but then you think about all the things that have happened over the last eight years, from when we were "gig buddies" to our first weekends away, and then the gentle combination of our households, right up to the point where we now have a house together. 

I've had some awkward relationships over the years, including two marriages, but it's been easy with the Minx since the word go. And maybe it's just an age thing but I think I've learned a bit more about being in a relationship and accepting my own flaws.

Anyway, I know I'm happy and I believe she is, too, and that's what matters to me.

****
-11.4 kgs
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.