Day 6

On the other olive front I continue to change the water daily. Already there is a bouquet of bottled olives. I tried one for bitterness and man was it bitter. But I did chew it up. Give it three months and they might be a thing.

Later wandered up into the silent woods behind the house ( extra). Past the pines it is old abandoned chestnut forest (Castagnetta) that once fed people through the winters. The silence is overpowering. Very few mushrooms around but beautiful. I came out with my basket empty but my heart full (or something like that). Or just relieved not to have gotten lost.

32,000 cases in Italy today. Tuscany considered a region at risk. It is mightily depressing and lockdowns are surely coming.

I planted three long rows of broad beans - Superacquadulce - where the auxiliary potatoes grew this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.