12.01

I had a lunchtime chat with a colleague who is fairly new to the organisation and wanted to learn about careers in conservation. It’s been hard to feel 100% satisfied with my work recently as trying to have conservation impact remotely is tough, and it’s more monotonous than usual when we can’t travel, go to meetings and enjoy the variety. However it was invigorating to talk through how my time in the organisation has evolved since 2008. It’s been quite a ride even if it’s currently in a relatively uninspiring phase.

The map of England and the steady creep of areas into Tiers 2 and 3 reminds me of something from the gameshow Blockbusters. Next in line is Staffordshire, from 12.01 on Saturday morning. I am due to go back to Cambridge on Saturday anyway, but it made it clearer that I shouldn’t delay these plans. My parents and my sister don’t live far from each other but won’t be able to mix from Saturday, so we marked the occasion with a Chinese takeaway.

My sister has an absolutely huge TV. I can’t imagine buying one of these but I definitely agree that it provided pleasurable viewing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.