Pukeko in a row

Years ago Dad asked me to design a Pukeko on the run so he could make several out of metal, mount them on a frame and hang them in their bbq area.

I drew and coloured one on cardboard and sent it to Dad. He cut 3 out of copper and sent them back to me to paint. Once painted I sent them back and he did the rest.

Years down the track the original 3 Pukeko came to me. Using Dad's soldering on the back of each one, I came up with a design. A horizontal rod with little supports (to stop them flipping) so they're running in a row. Two prongs attach to the rod so they can be placed in my garden and moved around.

I can't weld so I asked the MenzShed and they made it happen with improvements to my design.

Today's gratitude: For perseverance. Getting the balance right between computer exercises for my concussed brain and the rest of day to day is tricky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.