Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Bird watching!

I was late getting to my bird watching class. I HATE being late for anything. On many occasions in the past I have just not gone in, rather than go in late. Which is silly.

But it turned out that I only missed most of the sitting round the table introducing ourselves and telling about our bird sightings bit, which I find rather excruciating. But of course, I didn't miss my turn! I did hear a few strange bird names mentioned that had been seen (I think the others are regulars) but the only bird I can confidently identify is the pigeon. But I have learnt on blip that even pigeons are not straightforward. No, I should have said a robin!

Everyone was taking notes and I could see binoculars dangling. (Note to self: Bring binoculars next week). Then another person came in even later than me and looked even less like a bird watcher. She had a backpack, a handbag and a full shopping bag. And an instamatic camera (which she used constantly on our walk).

Anyway, we set off up the Water of Leith. The sign at the start said that Kingfishers, Dippers and Sparrowhawks were to be seen. Not today they weren't. But what a beautiful day for a stroll. It was still frosty in parts. When I say stroll, I do mean stroll. We'd walk a couple of steps, then the leader would make a noise, stand still, and point upwards with a blissful look on her face,
'Great Tit!'

And we would all agree that what we heard (some of us only heard the traffic and the river) was indeed a Great Tit.

I was able to identify one bird call. At one point I said, 'Crow!' And it was.

Actually, I'd said, 'Crow?' but nobody realised.

I also was first to spot the Great Crested Jogger. A flock of them actually.

We only went a wee way, but we stopped and looked up at Robins and Wood Pigeons and Crows in trees. Those with binoculars did. It was fun. I like bird watchers, they're so enthusiastic, even if they walk miles and only hear something and see a wee dot up in a tree. Each week we go somewhere else, so I'll really have to be organised next week and get there on time.

When the others left I hung around to take some photos of the river and maybe see the illusive Dipper swooping along. I've taken photos of the wee weir before, but there's a car yard in the background, which kind of spoils it. So today I sneaked through the car yard and clambered down to the river bank on the other side (Note to self: Grabbing hold of a bramble bush when you're falling is not a good idea). The sun was directly ahead, but as it was so much effort to get there, I carried on regardless.

And so my blip today, complete with burnt out sky, is the one chosen because I nearly killed myself getting it it shows the lovely tranquil scene sans car yard. Is that a Dipper I see in the distance?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.