The Accademia Bridge

This the only wooden bridge in Venice, and was built as a temporary measure decades ago, but has become permanent and one of the most famous bridges there.

Next to Chris you can see that people have begun to lock padlocks onto the bridge, as a romantic gesture that I have read about which is apparently sweeping the bridges of Europe! I've not seen any in London, but did see something similar in Covent Garden last week.

Chris here soaks up the sunshine looking rather Italian I think, on our way to The Guggenheim. I know I'm going to sound like an utter philestine but quite honestly, it was not quite as enjoyable as I thought it would be! I have been there before, but don't remember coming out feeling quite so gloomy last time!

I have studied Cubism but perhaps I am getting old - all that grey and black made me feel rather blue! I was longing for something uplifting and jolly, and luckily found it in the shape of Yoko Ono's Wishing Tree outside. You can write wishes on pieces of paper and it was hung with lots of them. It's just the kind of thing I love and of course Chris and I both wrote wishes. We didn't tell what they were - but I expect they were both the same anyway!

Another sunny and lovely Venetian day, walking, chatting, admiring the beauty of Venice, drinking coffees, lunch from a doorway cafe and ending with Bellini's followed by a great dinner at Centrale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.