Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No muffins

Becky came this morning, but it had started to rain, so they just went out for a short walk.

Not a day for going far, really, so JR did a bit of tidying up. I did a bit of watching CNN, but after I’d seen Biden’s speech several times, I switched to the BBC, which had a more balanced approach.

We took Archie a favourite walk round a few blocks and along the lane, and picked up some nice fresh bread. 

Me: "I think I’ll make some muffins."
JR: "No, don’t. Why don’t you make some soup instead?"

NB: Soup is not as exciting as blueberry muffins, JR!

And so we watched a film. ‘Rebecca’ (I had suggested "The Last of the Mohicans’) but oh what a boring waste of time it turned out to be. Well, JR quite enjoyed it. 

A man was in our back garden again. The shed had been tipped over. He was adding a frame for it to sit on, as the doors are becoming impossible and the base is rotting and damp. Poor chap, he was working away and then the rain came on, but he got it finished. I believe it’s being painted when it dries out.

We have had the paintings from yesterday for a long time, but they’ve never been grouped together before. Munroist4113 asked who was the artist was, which got me Googling to see if she was still painting. Yes, she is. I emailed a photo of the group to her daughter’s studio, telling her how much we still loved them. I would think that artists must like to get feedback on their work, even 20 years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.