I saw this today after swimming.
I am so great full for my continued swimming, even though in our lockdown I had to swim in the sea in April it was below 9degrees and bitterly painfully cold, but as the indoor pools were closed I had no choice, if I wanted to keep moving. So today when I saw a physio for the first time she was impressed with the range of movement in both my legs. So, I still have lots of work to do but when I asked her if my range of movement was due to swimming? She said yes definitely. It’s been a struggle, and sometimes I would rather stay in bed an extra 1/2 hour rather than get up at 6:30 to go for an early swim, or even not be bothered at all, because it’s raining and I’d rather stay home. But, I’m happy it’s worth it all.

I thought you’d like this.

She was a blacksmith’s daughter
I was the village swain
We never did our courting
Down any old country lane

But, underneath the spreading chestnut tree
I loved her and she loved me
There she used to sit upon my knee
‘Neath the spreading chestnut tree

There beneath the boughs we used to meet
All her kisses were so sweet
All the little birds went tweet, tweet, tweet
‘Neath the spreading chestnut tree

I said I love you,
And there ain’t no ifs or buts
She said I love you
And the blacksmith shouted “Chestnuts”

Underneath the spreading chestnut tree
There she said she’d marry me
Now you ought to see our family
‘Neath the spreading chestnut tree.

(Musical Break)

Under the spreading chestnut (knock)
Famous men made history
What did Gladstone sing in ninety-three
‘Neath the spreading chest (knock knock)

There beneath the boughs make no mistake
Good Queen Bess play darts with Drake
Watching Alfred burn the birthday cakes
‘Neath the spreading (knock, knock, knock)

That tree was planted
When the natives lived in huts
They were enchanted
When they found the fruit was chestnuts

Under the spread (knock, knock, knock, knock)
They devoured those nuts with glee
Hence the invention of bicarbonate of soda
'Neath(knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock)




(Transcribed from John Wright’s 78 RPM
Record Collection by Bill Huntley - December 2013)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.