Dizzy2302

By Dizzy2302

Holy Trinity Church, Shaftesbury

Dentist appointment in Shaftesbury today so, after he'd done his worst, I couldn't resist a walk around my home town. Snaftesbury is a photographer's paradise but after much deliberation settled on this blip today. Holy Trinity Church was built in 1842. It was our parish church until the 1970s when that role was tranferred to St. Peter's Church in the High Street. Holy Trinity was deconsecrated, its bells removed and it was taken over by a local trust and renamed Trinity Centre. It now has a combined use as a day centre for the elderly, a scout hall and private offices. The lime walks in the former churchyard were laid out as long ago as the 1600s and many of the original trees remain. I am sure there will be many more Shaftesbury blips to come! It holds a very special place in my heart - well it is home!!!

The day has ended with some not so good news. My son was made redundant today from the job he has had since leaving school five years ago. Can't say I've ever seen him so upset. With current employment situation, or lack of, he knows it won't be easy for a young man with special needs to find another job. My usual, ever present, positivity seems to have eluded me tonight - as a family we have a huge challenge ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.