Dizzy2302

By Dizzy2302

Home alone with Henry!!

Housebound today waiting for SEB engineer to come and change electric meters. We put them in over 30 years ago when we built our house. The story goes.......

We received a letter from SEB last week saying we were not using ANY electricity, our meters could be faulty and due to the age of the old clock type meters they would need to be replaced immediately. Half Term seemed a good time to hang around all day waiting for an engineer! 12 noon engineer arrived to replace ONE of our two ageing meters. He could not replace the second meter (despite us being told by the SEB it was defunct) as he only had the replacement of ONE meter on his worksheet. Meter 1 took 10 minutes to replace. He will be returning NEXT week to replace meter 2!!!!! Extra time, petrol, etc when he was already here and could have done it in 10 minutes........ Uuuuuuuuum remind me again why does electricity cost so much???

Was a greyish day but wrapped up warm I was able to catch up with all the chores in the garden. Henry kept me company from his little hidey hole. I rescued him and his pal Horace from the sale basket of a local stonemason - both had little bits missing!! Isn't he just the cutest?

TG still distraught over job loss .....have had 101 questions today ..... "But mum I was always on time, I always went in even when I was poorly, I did other people's shifts, I stayed late to help when things went wrong but still I lost my job .....I don't understand!" .....what can I say coz I don't understand either!! He has already started out today on what I am sure will be a long journey to find another job ....am hoping someone will be smiling down on us and reward him for his last five years hard work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.