Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Almond Magnums

JR went off to Waitrose early today. Quite a struggle, as mornings are, for us, a very slow affair, now that JR isn’t up and off to the gym by 9am. Archie is good - he can sleep in for ages. Mind you, he’s still doing his very annoying habit of needing out at night. 

In the afternoon, I dropped JR and Archie off up Blackford Hill, and went on to visit Uncle A. What a nice niece I was - I brought him a box of Almond Magnums for his freezer.

I left him prodding all the buttons on two television remotes. The channels had disappeared, but he assured me he knew what to do. I wonder if indeed he did get the BBC on again... Talking of which, it’s quite unfair of the BBC to start charging 90 year olds a licence fee. Uncle A can afford it, but many can’t. And really, it’s not worth it. But it’s too complicated to subscribe to Prime, Netflix etc.

Good news in the papers today - all adults in Scotland will be vaccinated by next spring, with 1 million done by the end of January. 

Photo by my assistant


PS It has been made clear that Edinburgh residents cannot go to IKEA, which is just outside the city limits!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.