Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Story time for Archie

Archie did his all-too-frequent ‘wuffing’ at the back door at 4am. This time I called his bluff, and shouted at him from my bed to ‘You can just stop that!’ 

He considered this for a minute or two, then came ambling back in and wanted back up on the bed, where he dozed soundly till 9am! Even then, JR took him round the block and he was in no hurry to relieve himself. He’s havin’ a laugh! I must tell him the story of the boy who cried ‘wolf’.

Elizabeth came for Archie this morning in bright sunshine. And indeed it was a lovely afternoon. But in between times, there was a deluge. Where were we when said deluge was on? In the middle of it! We’d walked across the Meadows, intending to go further, but we stopped at an outdoor cafe that we haven’t been to for ages (and enjoyed nice coffees and cinnamon buns). JR regaled me with tales of the latest ‘Conversations’ (an ABC podcast) she’d been listening to, this time about a man who climbed sheer cliff faces eg Yosemite. They’re all interesting life stories.

It then turned dark and ominous, and instead of perhaps sitting it out, we set off for home. And got soaked. I told JR to go on - she’s fast. I can’t hurry, even in a deluge. Mind you, I did stop to take photos because I couldn’t get any wetter. By the time I was half way through the Meadows, the sun was out again.

I was back home in time to watch the first of the rugby matches this afternoon. JR was back in time to find out that she had indeed remembered to switch the soup off.

Sad news today. Elizabeth’s dear dad (and our neighbour), Bill, passed away this morning in hospital, with the family at his side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.