Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Busy Pentlands

A sunny morning, but quite cold 3 deg C. I decide to head out to Blyth Bridge in the Borders. Heading out I take it easy as I am cycling in to the wind. Not very fast on the Moor road to West Linton. At the south end of the road there are quite a few cyclists heading in the opposite direction. Once through West Linton, I am sheltered from the wind by trees and hedges, plus it is mostly down hill to Blyth Bridge. I follow the A72 then the B road to Romannobridge. I stop at Newlands to take Extra 1ofthe old Newlands Church. From there it is back to West Linton and home via the moor road, light rain, and Penicuik. The route of the ride can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon, my partner and I go for a walk to Swanston. It is due to rain at 4pm, so the walk is ideal as it takes about 1 hour 20 mins. Heading along Swanston Road, the sun falls behind Allermuir Hill, so the walk is done in the shadow of the hills. Just above Swanston, where the blip was taken, the path to the hills is quite busy, and so it the golf course. Walking along to Lothianburn, the clouds are gathering behind us. In East Lothian, the setting sun is colouring the Bass Rock and North Berwick Law, Extra 2. Just after taking this, there is some light rain. Walking over the Fairmilehead crossroads, the rain is behind us, and the light over the Pentlands is very nice (unfortunately, the only place to get a shot is in the road, and I don't want to get run over). Home in plenty of time for afternoon coffee. Oh, no rain at 4pm, but it is getting dark by then anyway. Not a bad Sunday though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.