Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spot the Ball!

Did 3kms this morning! Actually, only 1km was swimming, the other 2kms were walking home. The bus was at the stop across the intersection. I thought about just running across with my fingers crossed and catching it. Then I thought not. I knew the next bus would be 15/20 minutes, so I walked home.

This morning I got in the pool, the only one in the Slow Lane (I love that) and I set off at great speed splashed along at my usual sluggish rate, happily thinking random thoughts:

He's guilty (Oscar), She's guilty: (Vicki Pryce) Looking forward to my porridge...

When suddenly, WHAM! KAPOW! My head hit something hard.

Another head!

Turns out, they had changed the way we swam today, it was clockwise. And I hadn't seen the other person away up the other end. Sometimes you think nobody's there and then they appear after swimming underwater for 20 metres. Where were the three attendants standing around and watching this car crash in slow motion and doing nothing? My fault, though. All the time I've been there, it's never been changed. Luckily the woman was understanding of my foolishness. But she did keep clear of me after that.

At the end of my swim I was stretching just lying there and a young woman in the Medium Lane next to me had a swig of her water bottle. I have noticed that a lot of them have water bottles. She told me it was something to do with the sunlight on the water and basically you were being spit roasted and had to keep up the water intake. Breathing through my mouth tends to eventually set me off coughing, as my throat gets dry. In fact, I could hardly talk to her I was so hoarse. Hmmm. Maybe I should have a water bottle too to complete the outfit. Googles, hat, water bottle. Doesn't quite fit with the Slow Lane...

Popped down to take Molly for a walk. She was quite excited to see me. Or was that just the lead being taken out... I really MUST remember gloves next time. It was SO cold. I had to just kick the ball with my hands in my pockets every now and then. But Molly didn't mind. I'm of the opinion that gloves are a nuisance - that's what pockets are for. But when you're throwing balls for a dog, hands are out.

Then I walked along to the Library Cafe in the University. I confirmed my suspicions. They have two chefs, and each one adds salt to the soup. I must mention it to them next time. All the gorgeous young people sitting around, having fun. Still, I don't want to be young again. Well, maybe, young AND gorgeous. That would be nice.

There was an older man sitting nearby, reading lots of papers and laughing out loud every so often. I do hope he wasn't a lecturer marking a young person's essay...

Talking of Vicki Price and the jury being dismissed because, as the judge said, they had shown 'fundamental deficits of understanding'. Hehehe! Don't you just love judge-speak. The jury were idiots!

So I've swum 1km, and walked about 4km today. I shall go and lie down and read my book snooze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.