Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Signs of Spring

One of the television reporters mentioned last night that spring is three weeks away. I thought, "Nah, it's a month from now."

I thought the first day of spring was March 20.

Then this afternoon when I arrived home, I took the pooches into the back yard to sniff around and, well you know. While I was waiting for them to take care of business I noticed this bloom and its surrounding buds. This seemed to be the evidence that spring is certainly rapidly approaching.

So Week 2 of the new college semester ends tomorrow. I met with both of my Thursday classes today. Collected their first essay. Handed-out three articles to read and then they must determine the main point of each and compose a summary. So the challenging work has begun.

I also explained to them the variety of errors that have been made in ordering their textbooks and the problem we are now trying to overcome with the new online programs they are to be using (I mentioned the mess in yesterday's blip). I'm confident all of this will settle soon.

This weekend will be "crunch time" here for getting ready to see the taxman. Actually, he's not the taxman, he is a CPA who does our financial tabulations to determine if we owe Uncle Sam or if we are in the safe zone. I have hours of prep in front of me to be ready for our appointment early next week. Oh what fun!

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.