Groggster

By Groggster

Mariners' Dozen

Today's image was taken in the grounds of our local rugby club - which is also home to our local baseball team, the Kent Mariners. 
They were originally formed nearly twenty years ago but I must admit I have never seen them play.  This image is of a player number hanging from the netting on the bullpen (I think this is the right term). After checking their website I discovered that this is one of the numbers of two players who had hung up their cleats (retired from playing) last year. This looks like a number 12 (hence the title) but is in fact a number 72 (Mariners' 72 did not sound like such a good title). The other number was an 88 but it did not seem as photogenic!
This is my first image taken with a 'new' zoom lens, which is actually an old lens kindly donated to me by my brother. I have taken to calling it Len's lens in tribute to the ex Strictly Come Dancing judge Len Goodman (there used to be a section on the show called "Len's lens" where they looked more closely at the dancers' routines - this lens has allowed me to get closer to my subjects).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.