It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Xmas at Sea

After opening a few presents, Rosemary n I headed out for an Xmas run. It was my longest since I got a calf injury in September. Happy about that and having a nice time. 

Izzy was coming at 12 and we arrived home at 11:45am! Whoops! The morning had already disappeared. Thankfully, Izzy was a little bit late. When she arrived, there was more pressie opening. Suitable for my dotage, I was delighted to receive woolly socks, a wearable blanket and a Thomas Heaton calendar. 

The ladies were going swimming. I fancied it too but struggle to cope with getting so cold afterwards at this time of year. I was cooking dinner too so didn't have time to convalesce under my new blanket for 2 hours to warm up! I chickened out and wandered about the beach for a bit. Light was rubbish but I was delighted to get a cormorant so close.

We had a fun evening. I was quite happy cooking although I wish I had prepped more in the morning. Brussel sprouts take an absolute age to do! Rosemary had picked an old recipe for a celebration nut roast. I was less keen but, with my magic touch, added a few extras and it turned out delicious. Roasties weren't as crispy as desired ......but Rosemary's brother's turkey was 'off' so they had it much worse! There are benefits to not eating dead creatures.

I ended up a little bit tiddly with too much beer, muscat and port, but fortunately I didn't go too far. We had a natter with Dada Byde on Skype and then Izzy headed off home.

It was a good Xmas! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.