It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A photo is only part of the picture.

We had just climbed Turnhouse Hill. Whilst not too physically challenging, there was ice (I have an irrational fear of the stuff) and I had pushed it too hard to keep up with Robert and was tired. The wind was blowing so hard at around 600m and wind chill was unbelievable. But it was beautiful. It was too cold to take my mitts off though and as a result, pushing the 'back focus' button on my camera was  difficult. 

The day was a fun one, but with friends & a partner like mine, even an Xmas walk is a challenge. We met up with Ola & Robert. Izzy is our new 'family member' as she's in our bubble. We set out just after 10am, loaded with snacks, Xmas cake and port, into the Pentlands. It's Ola & Robert's back garden. I was puggled after the 1st hill (admittedly several km long) and I'm slow at going downhill. So I seemed to be working hard for all of the 21km! 

I fell coming off Turnhouse too. Just a little tumble but it hurt so much. My elbow is now bruised. There was lots of ice on the way down but I coped ok, saved by my walking poles a few times. Robert had to rush back too as he was giving a music lesson. The rest of us more cake and port in the garage but it was too cold to stay too long. 

Izzy drove us back to her place, we jumped on the Bromptons and pedalled the rest of the way home! Our hands just about fought off frost bite. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.