Showing ......

...... gifts.
This year my Croydon family and I wasn't allowed to follow our Christmas Day ritual ie of helping in the St Christopher's Hospice restaurant . So between my daughter's family ( and her sister in law) it was decided just a little token gift and charity donation from them in leu of gifts. This I thought was a wonderful idea, it was our way of still being ( virtually) at the Hospice.
This year I think has given us all lots to "think " about. On reflection for me charity giving , especially to those less fortunate / homeless, would be a good way of going in the future. A token gift still, which would be a remembrance of the BIGGEST gift given to the world. ( whether you do or not believe) . I was so appreciative of our small gathering of 5 , being fortunate some weren't. It somehow made this year more symbolic and for me gratefully accepted as maybe I hadn't done always.
In The Rev's sermon at midnight mass he related some of what had happened in the past - - from wars / plague/ great fire of London/ 1st & 2nd WW 's but we have survived them all and we will survive this pandemic. We must continue to be mindful and respect rules/ restrictions etc. Rest assured WE will OVERCOME.
Our Christmas Day consisted of a wonderful dinner of traditional roast and all the trimmings ( cooked by our own personal chief!) , we played silly table games/ told silly jokes and even a board game ( tonight Boxing night) we are playing Bingo via zoom 5 of us. We each took a board home last night so we can play tonight. The wonders of technology never fails to give.
I hope you are all having a good and safe day , mine is very different as we usually celebrate Christmas Day on 26th . We are still positive and continue and count our blessings. Oh yes there will be ups and downs, you are allowed, but we will get there. Faith and love in all things.
Continue to enjoy everyone.

Grateful ...... for everything that has been granted to me at this season and always. I had a wonderful Zoom 2 hours with my friend who now I think will be living in Thailand ( can't see her returning to England now !) technology has been a boon to me keeping in touch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.