Picture Consequences

By consequences

Interruption

Just as Mr Smith was about to continue, there was a loud and rapid knock at the door.

"Albert Smith?" bellowed a voice. "This is security. Open the door, Mr Smith. Now, please."

Mr Smith and Kate looked at each other, clearly panicked.

"Ah. Oh dear, this isn't good. This isn't good at all," Mr Smith said, completely unnecessarily. From a drawer, he took a USB flash drive, and pressed it into my hand.

"Hide behind the desk, Alan - I'll go to the door, and demand to see their superior. As soon as we're gone, go left out of here and head through the door marked 'service corridor'.

"Once you've descended two flights of stairs, it's the most direct route to the outside world. Everything you need to know is on that memory stick. Now, quickly," he said, pushing me by my arm, "get down, out of of sight."

Things happened very quickly after that.

The door crashed in.

Mr Smith and Kate both quickly moved towards it.

I froze, and wished I was somewhere else entirely.

The next moment, I was.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.