Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

A Sunday swim

Storm Bella kept me awake last night. It is easy, at three a.m. in the darkness at the top of the house, to have a waking nightmare of the roof being ripped off by high winds. At times the weather sounded like a roaring animal.

Had a lazy morning reading in bed. Have got my reading mojo back after two or three books that didn’t really work for me. Have now moved on to something that I look forward to picking up. Liberal philosophy from Descartes to John Stuart Mill (so far). Excellently written.

We went for a walk at lunchtime and the amount of water on Chobham Common paid testimony to the overnight storm. My boots became quickly waterlogged and TSM’s hair kept snagging on the gorse in the narrower paths.

"This is very gorsey gorse" she said at one point, deploying the English language in the way that only she can. 

I took this black and white shot by accident but I liked it. It shows the drowned world that we woke up to in apocalyptic tones. We actually had a really good laugh despite the circumstances; most things are fun as long as we are together. Gorsey or not.

Virtual pub session with my boys tonight. We opened a bottle or two and had a YouTube video on in the background - pub chatter, crackling of a log fire and clunking of glasses ... good stuff ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.