Happy 7th Birthday!

Today the Youngest turned 7. We have had a fantastic day. The weather was glorious and scorching. We had a party at home, with 5 of her friends. We started with a treasure hunt, where they had to each find 3 pegs (one green, one purple and one yellow) and then they got a "prize" of a lemonade ice block/lolly. It set the mood so well, as they ended up working collaboratively to each find what they needed.

We also played hot potato (as an alternative to pass the parcel), same principle, but you are out if you are holding the object, instead of getting to unwrap a layer. We did the chocolate game too.

One of the guests has a dairy and egg allergy, so we made everything allergy friendly. Her part of the chocolate game was different gloves to the other kids, chopsticks and jelly snakes, instead of a knife and fork and a block of chocolate.

My favourite part of the party was when they were sat down eating their BBQ lunch, and the Youngest's BFF decided that conversation wasn't flowing enough. She cured it by asking "who here believes in reincarnation?' I had to depart swiftly to hide my surprised laughter. She explained it to the others around the table perfectly. Funny wee soul.

This evening we had the Grandparents over for tea, and that was when we had the proper birthday cake. One of my friends showed me pictures of a cake she'd done like this, so I had to give it a go myself. Really pleased with the result!

Happy birthday my girl. I never know what's going to come out of that mouth of yours, you keep me on my toes and make us all laugh. You're a kind and loving person, and I hope you continue to blossom into the lovely young lady that we see growing every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.