Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Hope I'm not a Noisy Gong or a Clanging Cymbal!

We have had a great weekend looking after two teenage grandchildren - we have played games, laughed a lot and had one or two minor "blips" - and I don't mean photographs!!

All in all, it has been good - and these times are very precious - but not sure I could live with teenagers again permanently! There was a lot of noise, lots of texting, some shouting and pizzas - they have to have pizzas! Next to their mobile phones, pizzas come a very close second with loud music coming third.

Grandad has been a brick - standing on the touchline when Josh was playing football, in Siberian weather conditions.

We enjoyed listening to Charlotte playing her drums, which she does very well, and hearing loud pop music, but a weekend is long enough. I got castigated several times because I didn't know the names of the current pop stars - well I knew them in my own day when I was much younger, but now I prefer Classic FM and Howard Goodall to Radio 1 - both mornings, I was rudely awoken to raucous music from Radio 1!! Must remind them to turn off the radio alarm next time!

Decided to "blip" Charlotte's drum kit as I was reading last night about someone who blogged for 14 days on the famous passage in the Bible, 1 Corinthians 13. The very first verse in the New Living Translation says :

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn't love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.

As I go back to my own home and have times of silence, I pray that I may not be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal, but that I will seek out others to love. It can't be that hard, can it?

God asks us to love Him with all our heart, soul and mind, which is fairly easy but then He asks us to love our neighbour as ourself - now that is hard!

Have a great week everyone.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.