It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

At the Botanics

It's the last day of the holidays. I woke pretty early and listened to Robert Louis Stevenson's 'Kidnapped' on BBC Sounds. I read it when I was wee. I didn't really remember the story, just that it was exciting to read a book that included places I knew. It also reminded me of the conversation Rosemary and I had last week about reading and literature. School basically sucked the love of reading out of us both and for similar reasons. "What do you think the author meant when they wrote this paragraph?" was a typical question. "How the **** would I know" was probably what I was thinking at the time. Cider with Rosie or the Grapes of Wrath may be literary works of art that get people who choose to study English literature rather more excited than is appropriate. 

However, what a typical teenager can relate to is usually quite different to what 'floats the boat' of adults. For me, teaching should be about instilling a love of learning in ways that relate to the way students see the world. Abstract & esoteric prose is a 'turn-off' for most. I don't know how kids would relate to Stevenson's writing now. But as a 'struggling' 10-year old, I remember not being able to put his books down, and would ask my parents for help with 'difficult' words when I needed it. I'll stop my rant now!

When Rosemary got out her bed, we headed out for a run. We were both tired after a tough weekend and my legs were like lumps of lead! We ran to Twelve Triangles in Brunswick Street but they were sold out of bread. We tried their Easter Road shop but that was closed, presumably because they had sold out too, Then it was back to Soderberg in Broughton Street as I knew they were open! Success!!! Rosemary bought a few yummy filled rolls and cardamom buns too (plus a loaf). By the time we got home, the run was a little further than planned. We needed our fancy lunch!

Then, we walked to the Botanical Gardens. It's about the only place we can go under current restrictions but there's always something different to see. I really liked this tree. Got a really nice picture of Rosemary too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.